INDUCTION OF Prof. Ajith Nagahawatte AS THE PRESIDENT 2019



Sri Lanka College of Microbiologists

2018 - 2019

Prof. Ajith de Silva Nagahawatte

Professor of Microbiology

Faculty of Medicine, University of Ruhuna

He had his primary and secondary education at Richmond College, Galle. Graduated MBBS from University of Colombo in 1992 and joined the University of Ruhuna in 1994. He obtained Diploma in Medical Microbiology in 1996 and MD in Medical Microbiology in 2000 from the University of Colombo. He was Board Certified as a Specialist in Medical Microbiology in 2002 and was promoted to the post of Senior Lecturer. He was Head, Department of Microbiology from 2006 to 2015. He was promoted to Professor in Microbiology in 2015 and the Chair Professor in 2016.

He is a Life member, a Past Secretary, a Past Treasurer and a Council Member of the Sri Lanka College of Microbiologists. He was a past President of the Ruhuna Faculty of Medicine Teachers Association in 2008 and the Galle Medical Association in 2011.

He is a member of the Board of Study in Microbiology PGIM since 2006 and a postgraduate trainer and an examiner of the PGIM. He was the Secretary Board of Study in Microbiology from 2009 to 2012 and is the Chairperson since January 2015.

He has over 30 full papers in peer reviewed indexed international journals and over 60 abstracts. He was a recipient of the President’s Award for Scientific Publication in 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016 and NRC Merit Award for Scientific Publication in 2013.